Alaska Insurance Producer CE Requirements

| November 5, 2010

Every licensed insurance producer in Alaska must take 24 hours of continuing education classes in order to renew the license. Of the 24 hours of CE credits, the state will not accept more than eight hours on the subjects of management, business organization and environment (which include sales, motivation and psychology). In other words, the Alaska Division of Insurance wants the predominance of your CE credits to concentrate on core insurance topics to help you remain abreast of the specific coverages and changes in insurance laws.

Where to Find Alaska Continuing Education Providers

Similar to the pre-licensing classes where Alaska has no formal requirement for the pre-licensing education, they do not have a state administered database of continuing education providers. Therefore, it is up to the insurance producer to locate state approved classes. Education providers such as The Success Family of CE Companies (successce.com), WebCE (webce.com) and Kaplan Financial (kfeducation.com), to name a few. Each organization offers classes that will satisfy the Alaska Continuing Education requirement. Although such organizations satisfy the continuing education requirement, they do not have to go through a state pre-approval process. Since companies do not have to go through pre-approval, it’s up to you to research each company before registering.

Documenting Your Continuing Education Classes

When you have done your homework and have selected an education provider, make sure to find out what type of documentation they offer as proof of completing the necessary course hours. Keeping meticulous records in addition to the proof from the education provider will prove handy when submitting the insurance license renewal request to the state. As part of the licensing renewal process, you must download, complete, sign and have notarized the Continuing Education Reporting form. The form asks for detailed information on the classes you’ve taken such as:Continuing Education

  • Name of sponsoring organization
  • Organization mailing address
  • Location where classes were given
  • Name of the course and description of the course content
  • Dates the class was taken
  • Actual hours of the course
  • Number of CE credit hours claimed

In addition to the above information, you must enclose proof from the education provider that you actually took the class. Therefore, it is important to retain all course completion information provided by the educator. If you do not include all of the requested information, the Department of Insurance will not accept the undocumented course credits and you’ll have to take the classes again if you wish to renew your license. When complying with the state continuing education requirement, remember that it’s just as important to document the classes taken as it is to pass the classes.

Tags: , ,

Category: Alaska, Insurance, Licensing

About the Author ()

Felicia A. Williams is a wife, mother, freelance writer and owner of Tidbits and Stuff.

Comments are closed.