NYS Driver Responsibility Program

| December 16, 2012
As of November 18, 2004, New York State’s Vehicle and Traffic law instituted a penalty system that deters drivers from repeating unwanted motor vehicle behavior.The Driver Responsibility Program of the New York State’s Vehicle Traffic law applies to anyone operating a motor vehicle, boat or snowmobile in the state of New York, regardless of the driver’s licensing state. Therefore, a driver licensed in another state who falls under the offending criteria is subject to the assessment.

Assessment Violations

The New York Department of Motor Vehicles has established four main criteria for the Driver Responsibility Program. Any of the following that occur on or after November 18, 2004 subject the driver to the assessment:

  1. Drivers who are convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol
  2. Drivers who are convicted of driving while under the influence of drugs
  3. Drivers who have refused to under go a chemical test to determine whether or not they were driving under the influence of a judgment impairing substance
  4. Drivers who, within an 18-month period of time, receive 6 or more points. The point violations must have occurred in New York State, Ontario or Quebec.

Driver Responsibility Assessment Amount

Drivers convicted of a drug or alcohol violation, or who have refused chemical testing are subject to a $250 annual assessment for three years totaling $750.

Drivers who receive six points in an 18-month period are subject to a $100 dollar annual assessment. For every additional point received the driver is charged $25 per point above the original 6-point threshold. Therefore, a driver who obtains 8 points in an 18-month period of time must pay $150 each year for a period of three years.

How to Pay the Assessment

The Department of Motor Vehicles mails an assessment statement that outlines the nature of the offense and the amount due. The recipient has the option of paying the three year assessment in a lump sum payment or, one third of the total amount over a period of three years.

Payments can be made by check, credit card or over the Internet by visiting the DMV website. Individuals without Internet access can pay over the phone by calling 518-402-2851.

Drivers who elect to pay the fee annually will receive a statement each year from the Department of Motor Vehicles. Failure to pay the assessment will result in license suspension.

Auto Insurance, Court Fees and Penalties

Drivers who are subject to the Driver Responsibility Assessment must pay the fine in addition to any court costs, penalties or fines. Drivers are further penalized because their auto insurance premiums will increase as a result of the violations and points. To help mitigate the high insurance cost, drivers should look to take a state approved driver safety course.

The driver safety course may help reduce the auto insurance premiums, but it will not reduce or waive the Driver Responsibility Assessment.

Tags: ,

Category: Automobile

About the Author ()

Felicia A. Williams is a wife, mother, freelance writer and owner of Tidbits and Stuff.

Comments are closed.