Satisfying Virginia Insurance Continuing Education Requirements

| December 28, 2012

Getting your Virginia insurance producers license is only half the battle. The other half is taking continuing education classes to maintain it.

The Virginia Bureau of Insurance requires all of its licensed insurance producers to take a minimum of 16 hours of continuing education classes in order to maintain and renew their licenses. If you have an insurance license in more than one line of authority (subject area), then you may be required to take as many as 24 hours of continuing education credits. Of the 24 hours, at the least eight must be specific to the line of authority that you wish to renew.

There are some exceptions to the 24 hour requirement, however. If you hold two licenses in similar fields, such as a Life & Annuities and a Health license for example, you are only required to take 16 course hours. For more detailed information on continuing education class exemptions, visit the Virginia Bureau of Insurance.

No matter how many course hours you are required to take, all licensed agents must take at least two hours of Insurance Law and Regulations every two years. There are no exemptions from taking Virginia insurance law classes.

Locating Approved Continuing Education ProvidersVirginia

The Virginia Bureau of Insurance has partnered with Sircon to track continuing education credits and to provide a database of state approved continuing education providers. Visit the Sircon Education Services website to find links for approved courses, approved providers and links to continuing education transcripts.

Locating approved courses is as easy as clicking on the Course Inquiry Link, selecting the education method (self study, traditional classroom or national course), course category (which is the line of authority, or insurance license specialty) and clicking “Submit.”

Selecting Continuing Education Classes

After clicking “Submit” the Sircon database will display a listing of classes by education provider. Once you find the class you wish to take, click on the Course Provider link for contact and registration information.

If you want to take classes from a particular education provider, you can search by Provider instead. Click on the Search by Provider link and select the name of the continuing education provider from the drop-down list provided. After finding the provider, click on the “Available Courses” link to see the full display of course offerings.

Tracking Continuing Education Credits

If you’re not quite sure how many more continuing education credits you need to satisfy your Virginia continuing education requirement, click on the Continuing Education Transcript Inquiry. Armed with your license number and last name, you’ll be able to view your continuing education transcripts.

The state requires licensed producers to comply with the continuing education requirements by December 31st of every even numbered year.

Tags: ,

Category: Insurance, Licensing, Virginia

About the Author ()

Felicia A. Williams is a wife, mother, freelance writer and owner of Tidbits and Stuff.

Comments are closed.