If you’re operating a motor vehicle in New York State, be careful. A few years ago, New York State enacted the Driver Responsibility Program. This program affects every person driving a motor vehicle, boat or snowmobile in New York.
New York Driver Responsibility Program
The purpose of the law, enacted on November 18, 2004, is to deter motorists from becoming repeat or even first time offenders (unfortunately, most people don’t realize the law exists until their a first time offender). In essence, the law places a hefty fine on motorists who have been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, refuses to take a chemical test (to prove whether or not one is driving under the influence), or have managed to rack up 6 points or more on your driver’s license in an 18 month period of time.
Penalty for Irresponsible New York Drivers
The fines range from $100 to $250 per year (this does not include the hit you’ll take on your auto insurance premiums). Failure to pay the fines can result in license suspension. If you recently have been convicted of DWI or have managed to incur several points on your license, you should read this article on the NYS Driver Responsibility Program which gives a better overview of the law and the consequences of violating it.
P.S. This law applies to boats and snowmobiles too.