Insurance agents, producers and brokers licensed in the state of Florida must take continuing education credits in order to maintain their Florida license.
Florida has one of the more complicated continuing education course requirement systems of the various states that offer insurance licenses. The continuing education requirement is based on the type of license and the number of years licensed.
For example, a general lines property and casualty agent must take 28 hours of continuing education credits. Of those credits 14 hours must comprise of property/casualty courses and the remaining 14 hours must be health courses.
However, if the same agent has been licensed for 25 years as a property/casualty agent and has achieved either a CPCU designation or Bachelor of Science degree in Risk Management or Insurance and has 18 or more semester hours of upper level insurance related courses (with 18 of approved property and casualty courses), and has been approved for a reduction in the continuing education requirement, she only has to take 14 hours of continuing education credits split evenly between property/casualty and health.
Various Florida Licenses/Job Tasks
If you are a licensed Florida agent in a customer service capacity, you must take 14 hours of continuing education credits (split 50/50 between property casualty and health). However, if you are a customer service representative with a life, health or variable annuity license you must take 28 credit hours, 14 in property/casualty and 14 in life, health or annuity.
To find out the course requirements specific to your license and job tasks, download the Licensee Compliance; Requirements; Penalties for Non-Compliance document available from the Florida Department of Insurance website. Or, you can visit the CE Requirement Search page which provides a more user-friendly interface that outlines the course requirements for each license type.
Finding Florida Insurance Continuing Education Classes
The fortunate thing is that the most complicated aspect of satisfying the Florida continuing education requirement is determining how many credits you are required to take. The Florida Department of Finance makes it easy to find education providers to satisfy the insurance requirement.
Visit the Florida Department of Financial Services education provider search database to locate approved insurance providers and courses. Insurance professionals have the option of taking traditional classroom/lecture style classes, online classes, correspondence and even full or part-time study. The only mandatory search field on the database is the Course Authority (meaning the license type).
After inserting the search criteria, the database will display all of the education providers that meet your search criteria. The results will display the course name, type of study, total course hours, line of authority and name of the provider with a hyperlink to more detailed information on the course provider. The Provider Detail page gives all of the necessary information for course registration including mailing and website address, phone/fax number and email address.
Continuing Education Credit Expiration
When taking Florida insurance continuing education courses, be mindful of your 24-month licensing period. You must satisfy the education requirements by the last day of your birth month 24 months after first receiving your license. Make sure to check your continuing education status on the Florida Department of Financial Services website. Be forewarned, however, the website will force you to use Microsoft Internet Explorer browser version 5.0 or better in order to track your credits.