If you’re looking to become a licensed insurance producer in Arizona, you should first review the Arizona Revised Statutes (“ARS”) § 20–295. The statutes outline reasons for denial, suspension or revocation of insurance licenses. It’s obvious that Arizona takes insurance licensing seriously and pays particular attention to the moral character of the individual/business applying for licensure.
You should also be aware that your application becomes public record. Sensitive information such as social security numbers and dates of birth are not shared publicly on the application, but the remainder of the information and supporting documentation become public record. This means anyone can view or photocopy the information you provide.
If the information doesn’t faze you and you are an Arizona resident that is 18 years of age or older and still wish to become a licensed insurance producer in the state of Arizona, here is what you have to do:
- Determine the line of authority for which you want to become licensed. The lines of authority are life insurance, accident and health or sickness, property, casualty, variable life and variable annuity or personal lines.
- Study for the exam. The state of Arizona does not have minimum education requirements for becoming licensed. It’s up to the candidate to become well versed on the subject matter in order to pass the exam for the line of authority desired.
- Schedule the exam ($50 fee). All insurance licensing exams are administered through PSI. Visit their website and select the appropriate exam. PSI administers exams for several states so make sure you select the insurance exam for your state. While on their site, download the Candidate Information Bulletin The bulletin provides valuable information on the licensing process.
- Pass the appropriate exam. If you fail the exam the first time you have the option of trying three more times in any given 12-month period. Arizona law limits the number of tries for the same exam to 4 attempts in one year.
- Submit fingerprints ($22 fee). PSI testing centers offer LiveScan fingerprinting services. Instead of applying ink to your fingers and rolling your fingertips on a card, LiveScan digitally scans your fingers to get the prints. It’s a much cleaner method. If you choose not to use LiveScan you can use any professional fingerprinting service.
- Complete and submit the License Eligibility Requirement form along with the necessary documentation.
- Complete and submit the insurance license application ($120 fee). Arizona residents have the option of completing it online by visiting NIPR. Once the application is completed and the appropriate fees paid, NIPR will send a confirmation email that says either the application has been accepted or it has been deferred. A deferral usually means NIPR is missing information or further investigation has to be done before approving the license.
- View your license. Once it’s approved you may view it by searching for your name on the Insurance Professional page of the Arizona Department of Insurance website.
Please note, this article was written in February of 2014. The fees are subject to change. Please visit the Arizona Department of Insurance website for the most up to date fee schedule.